Nant Gwrtheyrn was an abandoned village
in the 1970s following the closure of the quarries. The redundant houses, offices, chapel and shops constructed during the quarry’s heyday between 1860 and 1920,when over 2,000 men worked the granite, had fallen into rack and ruin.
Establishing a Trust
The Nant Gwrtheyrn Trust
, a registered charity was formed through the energies of Dr Carl Clowes
, the local GP and others and eventually they bought the village and set about renovating the old buildings and developed a centre to teach Welsh to adults which also attracted other groups to enjoy the unique ambience of this peaceful valley.
Between 2007 and 2010 a £5m renovation of the listed village at Nant Gwrtheyrn was realised through grant aid principally from the:
This grant aid has helped to establish a unique residential centre
and day visitor attraction
at Nant Gwrtheyrn. This appeals to a range of visitors for events such as weddings
as well as the year long programme of Welsh language courses
Nant Gwrtheyrn continues to be managed by the Nant Gwrtheyrn Trust and is a charity and company limited by guarantee.